Regional One Championship – Round 8


Martinborough have been anointed 2017 Shirley Corlett Trophy champions after the latest round of Wairarapa Tennis regional one interclub played at Masterton on Friday evening.

Keeping their unbeaten record intact, Martinborough had to resist a worthy challenge from nearest contender Gladstone and in doing so have opened up an unassailable 12-point lead with two fixtures still to be played.

The much awaited clash between leading men Chris Wilkie (Martinborough) and Lochie McNab by no means produced a classic, but what it did highlight is just what a force Wilkie has become since his return to the district late last year.

McNab has been in cracking form this season, dishing out plenty of hidings himself, but this time he was on the receiving end as Wilkie put on a masterclass to get Martinborough off to the perfect start.

Scott Day responded in kind for Gladstone seeing off Simon Campbell’s challenge but Campbell was to have the last laugh as he combined with Wilkie to wear down the Gladstone duo in a third-set super tiebreaker to clinch the tie and the title for Martinborough.

Opaki 2 continued their march up the points table, avenging their earlier loss to Carterton with a 2-1 victory.

Brett Dymond was the backbone of the Opaki effort winning both of his matches in quick time.

However, the talking point of the night was the performance of Rathkeale student Marcus Laing, playing at No.1 for Carterton. He produced the upset of the season downing Opaki’s Chris Davidson in 3 sets to register the best win of his career.

Masterton finally entered the winners circle and were well deserving of their 2-1 defeat of Opaki 1.

Not surprisingly it was Chad Parson who fired into action for the home side and he had to pull out all stops as Duncan Oakley was breathing down his neck for the entire match. As it transpired Parson kept his nose in front when it mattered, winning a tight encounter 6/4 7/5.

The go-to man for Opaki 1 has been Jon McNab and despite carrying an injury he prevailed over Peter Hampson to level the tie. The doubles went right down to the wire, but it was the Masterton pairing of Parson and Hampson that won by the narrowest of margins – 12/10 in the third set super tiebreaker.

The next round of matches is due to be played at Martinborough on Saturday.


Martinborough def Gladstone 2-1 (Martinborough names first). – Mens Singles: Chris Wilkie beat Lochie McNab 6-3 6-1; Simon Campbell lost to Scott Day 4-6 0-6. Men Doubles: Wilkie & Campbell beat McNab & Day 3-6 6-4 7-6.

Opaki 2 beat Carterton 2-1 (Opaki 2 names first). – Mens Singles: Chris Davidson lost to Marcus Laing 5-7 6-2 6-7; Brett Dymond beat Chris Prenter 6-0 6-0. Mens Doubles: Davidson & Dymond beat Laing & Prenter 6-1 6-1.

Masterton beat Opaki 1 2-1 (Masterton names first). – Mens Singles: Chad Parson beat Duncan Oakley 6-4 7-5; Peter Hampson lost to Jon McNab 4-6 0-6. Mens Doubles: Parson & Hampson beat Oakley & McNab 3-6 6-3 7-6.

Shirley Corlett Trophy Points: Martinborough 29, *Gladstone 17, Opaki (2) 16, Carterton 13, * Opaki (1) 10, Masterton 7. * denotes 1 game in hand.